Kolar Iyers

History of the people from Ashtagrama

Famous Personalities



Sri D. Venkatesha Iyer was the elected member of the legislative assembly from Kolar district.


Sri D. Devarajaiah, of Devarayasamudram, worked for the development of the village and started innovative schemes such as midday meal program etc. His son Sri H.D. Venkatesha Iyer and Sri D. Rama Iyer have done a great work for the renovation of temples, Dispensary, schools etc in the village 


Sri R. N. Ravikumar, son of Sri R. S. Narayana Iyer of Devaryasamudram is an Advocate, a young leader who has taken keen interest in the renovation of temples and other developmental works in Devarayasamudram


Sri R.S. Narayana Iyer (Ranga Nana)  of Devarayasamudram was a very active leader and a social worker.


Sri Dandu Subbarayappa and his wife Smt. Lakshamma bequeathed all their property to the temple and midday meal schemes.


Smt. Subbamma , was the First lady graduate of the community who donated funds for starting a hospital in Devarayasamudram.


Sri Killedar Rayappa built the Mahadwara of Sri Lakshminarayaswamy temple in Devarayasamudram.


Sri V.V. Iyer was a member of the Representative Assembly for a long term and who lived up to 104 years.  He had settled down in Bhadravathi


Sri Sangeetha Narayana Iyer, Honnganahally. A Jodi Grama was gifted to him by the Maharaja of Mysore. 


Sri Ponna C. Venkateshaiah donated a wing of wards to S.N.R. Hospital, Kolar.


Sri M.R. Venkatesha Iyer (Appaji), Humanitarian, who helped many landless people belonging to minorities, Scheduled Caste and Scheduled Tribe to get lands by his good offices.


Sri Y.V. Muniswamy Iyer, a reputed contractor, of Yelagondahally was an elected member of the Representative Assembly.


Sri V.S.Krisna Iyer, Ex Mayor of Bangalore City Corporation and Ex Deputy Chairman, Karnataka Legislative council.  Minister in the Govt. of Karnataka.  Member of Parliament for a long term.  Actively involved in Social work.


Sri D.V. Sathyanarayana, Engineer, Ex Corporator of Bangalore City Corporation and a very active social worker.


Sri Raj Iyer, Director of a Non Govt. organization “Grama Vikas” founded by his father.


Dr NKA Iyer, in Mulabagal taluk for the welfare of the rural people and actively involved in social work.


Sri C. Venkateshaiah (Reddy Mama) –Recipient of public service medal. The dispensary and staff quarters at Chamarahally are donated by him.


Sri S.R. Chandrasekhar –Social worker striving for the betterment of backward classes. Venkatadrinagar in Devarayasamudram is a monument to his efforts.


Mrs. Vasantha Karna  –Social worker.


Sri Y.M.Srinivasa Sharma is an outstanding Horseman, marksman, swimmer and a social worker.  Recipient of Karnataka Rajyothsava Prashasthi.


Ms Anitha Iyer  –Teenage girl from Karnataka in the volleyball team for Asiad 1982.


Sri Ramakrishna Iyer of Haralakunte  was a pleader who gave up his practice in the name of truth and justice.  He was an elected member of the Assembly from Kolar taluk.


Sri K.Ramakrishna Iyer


Gangapur Narayana Sastry samskritha veda patashala in Devarayasamudram is a gift in his father’s memory.


Sri V. Venkateshan (Thichhappa) (of Thattanagunte),  a great organizer and  a high profile personality in the field of  Insurance  .His portrait  still adorns the portals of the erstwhile Oriental Life Insurance company in Bombay.


Sri M.R. Srikantan has received President’s Scout award and Prime Minister’s shield for best scouting.


Ms S. Saraswathi, daughter of Sri N. Srinivasa Muthy of Madras has been the first in the community to join the Indian Administrative cadre


Sri Margasahayam Venkatesha Iyer –Engineer and social worker


Sri Y. V. Someshwara    –Businessman and social worker. Past president of the Ashtagrama  Association.


Sri G.N. Nanjunda Iyer of Ganjigunte, Engineer, a very active social worker and President of the Ashtagrama Association.